



# Institute of Power Engineers Vancouver Branch

# 2017 AGM Meeting Minutes

Date:November 21, 2017Location:BCIT Campus, Room 1045Time:7:00 pm

# Members in Attendance:

Power Engineers: Tim Haaf PE, Gordon Beriault PE, David Paulin PE, Eric Steinson PE, Clayton Mullen PE, Jason Rako PE, Stephen Davis PE, Art Smith PE, Geoff Chesterton PE, Olaf Vinje PE, and Fred Golar PE.

Student Members and Guests: Erfan Atrchi, Akheem White, Kevin Abian, and Benson Wong (guest, student)

**Quorum:** Total Branch membership to October 31, 2017 – 148 members in good standing - **Quorum has been met.** 

# Agenda:

# A. Approval of the Agenda

The 2017 AGM meeting agenda was shown on the overhead projector to all meeting attendees and discussed.

Motion: David Paulin, PE Second: Gordon Beriault Carried

# B. Reading of the Previous 2016 AGM Minutes of the Vancouver Branch

The minutes of the 2016 AGM were summarized by the Branch Secretary.

# C. Errors and/or Omissions of the Previous Minutes

Members pointed out some members had their names incorrectly spelt in the 2016 AGM minutes. Aside from this, there were no major errors or omissions.

# C. 1. Unfinished Business Arising from the 2016 AGM Minutes, November 16, 2016

None presented.

### D. Approval of the Previous 2016 AGM Meeting Minutes

After discussing the minutes, a motion was put forward to accept the 2016 AGM Meeting Minutes as presented.

Motion: David Paulin, PE Second: Gordon Beriault Carried

#### E. Treasurer's Report

Tim Haaf, PE, Treasurer of the Vancouver Branch for 2017, presented the Treasurer's Report. This report is an unaudited statement of the Vancouver Branch's financial activities up to October 31, 2017.

The chair of the meeting put the motion forward to accept the un-audited Treasurer's Report to October 31, 2017.

Motion: David Paulin, PE Second: Eric Steinson Carried

#### F. Amendments to the Bylaws

No amendments to the Bylaws were presented.

#### G. Elections of the Executive Committee

- Nominating Committee Chair: Art Smith, PE
- Scrutineers Appointed:

# G. 1. Election Results

President:	Eric Steinson, PE, by acclamation	
First Vice President:	Paul Kwan, PE, by acclamation	
Second Vice President:	- Vacant -	
Secretary:	Erfan Atrchi, PE, by acclamation	
Treasurer:	Tim Haaf, PE, by acclamation	
Area Director:	David G. Paulin, PE, by acclamation	
Alternative Area Director:	John Lauder, PE, elected by ballot	
Auditors (reviewers):	To be appointed by the executive committee	

#### G. 2. Destruction of election-vote ballots

The chair motioned to destroy all the ballots used for voting during the election.

Motion: Eric Steinson	Second: David Paulin	Carried

#### H. New Business

- Dave Ewenchook, PE, and with Martin Vine, PE, have been appointed as Auditors for the 2018 year.
- Jason Rako has been appointed as the Assistant Secretary for the 2018 year.
- The 2018 AGM of the Vancouver Branch is set for Tuesday, November 20, 2018, at 7:00 PM. The location is to be decided.

#### I. National Awards for 2017

Service award – Honorable Mention: Gordon Beriault, PE Service Award – Honorable Mention: Clayton Mullen, PE Service Award - Service Award & Scroll: Fredrick G. Golar, PE

# J. Meeting Adjourned

Upon completion of the 2017 AGM agenda, the meeting was adjourned by the 2017 branch president, Eric Steinson, and the 2017 secretary, Jason Rako.

The meeting was adjourned on November 21 at 8:40 PM.

2017 branch president: Eric Steinson, PE

2017 branch Secretary: Jason Rako, PE